Chandigarh misses the train by just one run against Railways in a thriller

A blazing 105 off 59 balls sixth wicket partnership between Ankit Kaushik and Sarandeep Singh went vain as host lost the thriller in last ball of the day by one run against Railways at the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy match played at GMSSS, Sector 26 on 15 November 2019.

Chandigarh’s captain Manan Vohra had won the toss and invited Railways to bat first. Railways made a brisk start as openers Mrunal Devdhar and Pratham Singh added 47 runs in 5.2 overs before Mrunal was caught by Gaurav Gambhir off the bowling of Shrestha Nirmohi at the individual score of 26 off 15 balls. Vikrant Rajput, then, joined Pratham Singh to stitch 96 run stand. Bipul Sharma removed Pratham Singh at an individual score of 67 off 47 balls with 144 for two on the board. Rajput went on by smashing one boundary and four sixes in his inning  48 before he accounted for Gurinder Singh. Jaskaran Singh made captain Karn Singh fell short of his crease for 11. Manan Vohra sent back Mohd Ahmed (1) with his direct throw. During the last moments of inning, unbeaten Pradeep Thippeswamy hit one boundary and five sixes to score 36 in his 15 balls play. Railways managed 196 for six in stipulated overs.  

In reply, Chandigarh’s top order batsmen failed to cope with required run rate and fumbled in regular interval with the meager contribution of Manan Vohra (11), Shivam Bhambri (14), Gaurav Puri (12), Jaskaran Singh (20) and Bipul Sharma (30). Disciplined bowling attack reduced the host to 90 for five in 11.5 overs. However, last eight overs witnessed hard hitting batting from Ankit Kaushik (74 off 37 balls, 4X5 and 6X6) and Sarandeep Singh 31 off 17 balls, 2X2 and 2X6). Chandigarh required 24 runs to win in last over. Kaushik smashed three sixes to Pardeep Thippeswamy but failed to steer team to victory.

Brief Scores:
Railways – 196 for 5, Pratham Singh 67, Vikrant Rajput 48, Pradeep Thippeswamy 36 not out.
Chandigarh – 195 for 6, Ankit Kaushik 74 not out, Sarandeep Singh 31, Bipul Sharma 30.

About the author